Wednesday, July 2, 2014

First Book of Summer!

Yahoo! I've finished the first book of my summer reading pile.  I read Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech.  This book was picked for me by my daughter, Allie.  It was her last book of the school year and she wanted me to read it too.  It is a Newberry Medal winner and I thoroughly enjoyed it.  It tells the story of Salamanca Tree Hiddle as she travels across the country with her grandparents following the same path that her mother traveled, however her mother never returned. Sal feels rushed to find her mother before her mother's birthday, but it's a long trip from Ohio to Idaho and along the way, to pass the time, Sal tells the story of her friend Phoebe who has her own "mother issues".  As Sal travels and tells Phoebe's story she learns about herself, her mother and father, and figures out how to go on and live life without some important members of her family. Beware, the tears started to flow in the last few chapters!
Now the question is what will I read next?   I have a very large stack of books waiting for me that all are begging to be read. Maybe I'll choose another by Sharon Creech called Absolutely Normal Chaos.  It  recounts the story of Mary Lou Finney one of the characters from Walk Two Moons. Maybe it will be Enclave  by Ann Aguirre, the book my son is reading. It's recommended for fans of The Hunger Games and I am one of them. So many choices.  What to read? What to read?? I have chosen my next professional book The Book Whisperer by Donalyn Miller, but I have yet to crack it open.  I guess I'll go check out the pile.  Until next time!